top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

PROJECT 1 Week 3 : The struggles of typeface decisions

This week of the project was focussed on refinement of design, incorporation of page numbers, running titles and fixing spacing issues. It was also the week in which I tried to decide on a typeface and how many to use and where.


I ended up going with Mrs Eaves XL Serif Narrow, designed by Zuzanna Licko, a female type designer who has won multiple awards for her type design work. Mrs Eaves is part of the Emigre family however is based off of Baskerville. It was designed in memory of Sarah Eaves, one of the forgotten women in the history of typography. I thought this to be a good fit for the book as the content of the book discusses feminist issues. As well I wanted to use a typeface designed by a woman for the same reason.


At first I was drawn towards using a typeface that was bolder to emphasize the content however in the end I think that Mrs Eaves XL Serif Narrow was a good choice both conceptually and for its legibility and 'classic with a slight twist' nature .


To reach this decision I did printing tests of other typefaces with varying sizes, leadings, and spacing.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Layouts and design choices

Even before finalizing the text content, I had many design ideas floating in my head. I was trying to decide how to give a voice to the land, to the text, and how to incorporate the pipeline into this

Sourcing text

The first week was a hunt for content. Once I had formulated the idea of exposing media coverage of the Northern Gateway Pipeline project I needed to find content that would support both sides of the

bottom of page