top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Layouts and design choices

Even before finalizing the text content, I had many design ideas floating in my head. I was trying to decide how to give a voice to the land, to the text, and how to incorporate the pipeline into this. I was drawn to making this more of a statement art piece rather than a easily distributable book as this is something I tend not to do in projects and I wanted to challenge myself to take this more artistic approach.


I wanted to incorporate imagery of the landscape that the pipeline would be destroying as a way to open eyes to just how detrimental this pipeline could be. I initially thought of including this as a fold out map that would function as the whole book folding to a poster with images and the map of the area from Bruderheim, Alberta to Kitimat, BC. However as I started to work out the text and this idea further it became unrealistic as printing at this size was not an option. I chose to then make the images and the map a fold out accordion cover and keep the text separate.

I also wanted to work with style of new articles and newspapers and chose my final text layout as an attempt at a chaotic article with each layer - image, text, headline - overlapping and in conflict with each other. I wanted to have a fold out aspect to create this aspect of revealing more information as happens with the news coverage. I wanted to give the first and most prominent voice to the protesters though as this is often not done and it also highlights the books stance on the pipeline.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sourcing text

The first week was a hunt for content. Once I had formulated the idea of exposing media coverage of the Northern Gateway Pipeline project I needed to find content that would support both sides of the

bottom of page