top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

PROJECT 1 Week 2 : Iterate, iterate, iterate...

This week was the time for testing different page sizes, margin widths, text formats and page layouts. I played around with many ideas and decided on working with a taller page size of 4.75"x9.5".


I was originally drawn to the smaller sizes as I tend to enjoy small books, however I found it important to have the poems fit as much as possible on one page. I find with poetry and slam poetry specifically there to be a flow and rhythm to reading it, like music, and that having to turn the page interrupts this.


The size I decided on is also a bit more commanding and noticeable than a small cute book, which I preferred because the content is important and direct rather than cute and fluffy.


Page size: 3.5"x5" (shown below is a double page spread)


Page size: 8.5"x11" (shown below is a single page spread)


Page size: 6"x4.5" (shown below is a two page spread)

For this concept I was considering binding it as an accordion to reinforce this idea of flowing rhythm as well as the similarities in messages between each poem.

Page size:4.75"x9.5" (shown below is a double page spread)

This is the final size and page layout that I decided on.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Layouts and design choices

Even before finalizing the text content, I had many design ideas floating in my head. I was trying to decide how to give a voice to the land, to the text, and how to incorporate the pipeline into this

Sourcing text

The first week was a hunt for content. Once I had formulated the idea of exposing media coverage of the Northern Gateway Pipeline project I needed to find content that would support both sides of the

bottom of page